

# ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES OF THE GOVERNING BOARD OF WEST40 INTERMEDIATE SERVICE CENTER #2

The West40 ISC #2 Annual Governing Board Meeting was held on Friday, August 23, 2024, at 8:00 a.m., at 415 Lexington Street, Maywood, IL 60153. Board President Dr. Kelsall called the meeting into order at 8:07 a.m.

#### I. Roll Call:

**Present**: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall, Dr. Ed Condon, Mr. Stuart Brown, Dr. Aldo Calderin, Dr. Leah Gauthier, Ms. Kylie Lindquist, Ms. Mary-Rita Moore, and Ms. Dana Wesolowski .

**Not Present**: Dr. Kristin Kopta, Ms. Elieen Piper-Simpson, and Ms. Kathleen Tomei

President Kelsall declared a quorum for the West 40 ISC #2 Governing Board meeting at 8:09 a.m.

**Also present**: Dr. Mark Klaisner, Dr. Jayme Tighe, Ms. Christi Tyler, Ms. Lefvia Marrero, the staff listed in Appendix A, and visitors.

#### II. Employee Recognition:

West40 celebrated the dedication and service of its staff, recognizing employees with tenures ranging from 5 to 30 years. Supervisors praised the honorees for their unwavering commitment and highlighted their significant contributions to the organization's success. Those with decades of service were particularly commended for their leadership, mentorship, and positive impact on colleagues and the community. The celebration reflected longevity and the passion each individual brought to their role.

III. <u>Approval of June 14, 2024 Minutes</u>: It was moved by Ms. Kylie Lindquist and seconded by Ms. Mary-Rita Moore that the West40 ISC#2 Governing Board approves the minutes as presented. On call of the roll, the vote was as follows:

**Ayes**: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall, Dr. Ed Condon, Mr. Stuart Brown, Dr. Aldo Calderin, Dr. Leah Gauthier, Ms. Kylie Lindquist, Ms. Mary-Rita Moore, and Ms. Dana Wesolowski.

Nays: None The motion carried without dissent.

#### **IV. Action Items:**

#### **Board Ratification**

The Board ratification was successful, with all members unanimously deciding to stay on for another term. They are excited about the future and remain committed to supporting the organization in its ongoing growth and success; they look forward to continuing their work and driving its mission and vision forward.

**Approval of Meeting Dates**: It was moved by Dr. Ed Condon and seconded by Mr. Stuart Brown that the West40 ISC#2 Governing Board approves the meeting dates as presented. On call of the roll, the vote was as follows:

**Ayes**: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall, Dr. Ed Condon, Mr. Stuart Brown, Dr. Aldo Calderin, Dr. Leah Gauthier, Ms. Kylie Lindquist, Ms. Mary-Rita Moore, and Ms. Dana Wesolowski.

Nays: None The motion carried without dissent.

#### V. Presentations

#### **Financial Report -** Ms. Christi Tyler:

West40 begins the new fiscal year with a balance of approximately \$4.0 million. This amount falls below the 3-month reserve target, solely attributed to the delayed reimbursement from DCFS related to St. Joseph's. The reimbursement was for phase I HVAC work.

The Draft Overall Funding Picture includes projections for FY24, which includes 3 months of reserves.

#### **Highlights of the budget for FY2024:**

- Increase in Evidence Based Funding: \$4.35 million increase (170 additional students served)
- Fiscal agent fees for managing EANS Final Reallocation Grant: \$400,000
- Chicago Public Schools School Improvement IGA: \$560,000
- Cook County Behavioral Health Grant: \$675,000
- School Based Mental Health Grant: \$2.7M
- Professional support to districts: \$1.5 million
- Increase in cost of employee salaries (due to salary increases and additional staff): \$3.1 million
- Estimated Increase in cost of employee benefits (due to plan increase and additional staff): \$550,000

• Debt Certificate: we are working towards a plan that would at least pay a substantial amount of the \$9M + interest this fiscal year.

#### Assistant Executive Director Report Dr. Jayme Tighe

Dr. Tighe announced that West40, in collaboration with Illinois Association of Regional Superintendents of Schools (IARSS), will be spearheading Illinois School Board of Education (ISBE) ESSA plan revisions. Superintendent Dr. Tony Sanders and Chief of Staff Dr. Kimako Patterson have recognized that changes to the statewide system support should be in the hands of the regional offices of education because they understand the needs of their schools and districts the best.

## **Executive Director Report** - Dr. Mark Klaisner **Staff Capacity:**

Dr. Klaisner reflected on the onboarding 37 new employees that will support the goal to serve over 4000 new ALOP students in the new fiscal year.

#### ALOP:

Dr. Klaisner reported thirteen regional offices of education throughout the state are now modeling the West40 ALOP program. He also celebrated ISBE has approved the application to serve K-3 students through the ALOP programs. The application will be voted on in the legislature in October.

#### CES:

The Comprehensive Education Services (CES) kickoff was a success. The West40 School Safey Conference is scheduled for Oct 3, 2024; over 600 participants are expected to attend. The conference is made available to free of charge in view of the financial support of the vendors.

CES has instituted the Alert Media application to help keep over 240+ staff working in 40 different areas, safe and informed quickly.

#### St. Joseph' Campus

Zoning was approved on Jun 25, 2024. Demolition is complete and the new HVAC backbone installed.

Dr. Klaisner commended Dr. Jayme for her outstanding work and leadership in leading the CPS continuous improvement work and the ESSA statewide systems plan.

#### VI. <u>Public Comment:</u>

No one chose to speak.

**VII.** <u>Adjourned:</u> Member Ms. Kylie Lindquist moved, seconded by Dr. Ed Condon. Be it resolved, the West40 ISC# 2 Annual Governing Board hereby adjourns at 9:13 a.m.

**VIII**. The next West40 Governing Board Meeting will be held on Friday, September 20, 2024, at 415 Lexington Street, Maywood, IL 60153.

### Appendix A

#### **Employee Recognition:**

5 Years

Allen, Lytaka J Alvarez, Karin D Ballenger, Cameece Brown, Sionda A

Dees, Suzy

Diaz, Ana (Matt C) Green, Brucal

McLaurin, DeAndre Pazaran, Alexandra M. Sanchez, Kevin A Sierra, Gina Silva, Juan

Vujovich, Pamela A

10 Years

Agrela, Maria-Elena Balderas, Sharon Bastian, Eduardo

Boies, Josh Coe, Matt Debre, Nancy

Giosa, Frank

Medina, Mirtha

Johnson, Annie Johnson, Deacon

Parssell-Findley, Kristen J.

20 Years

30 Years